Archbishop Salvatore Cordileone has issued an "Update to the People of God on First Steps in Reopening for Public Mass" in the Archdiocese of San Francisco.
Read more

About The Sacraments

"The whole liturgical life of the Church revolves around the Eucharistic sacrifice and the sacraments" (Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1113).

The Latin word sacramentum means "a sign of the sacred." The seven sacraments are ceremonies that point to what is sacred, significant, and important for Christians. They are also special occasions for experiencing God's saving presence. That's what theologians mean when they say that sacraments are both signs and instruments of God's grace. The sacraments nourish and strengthen us as they express and build up our faith.


Sacraments of Initiation

Sacraments of Healing

Sacraments of Vocation